I’m so excited to introduce Wendy Mattox, author of the animal-centric and outdoorsy chapter book series the Magic Magnifying Glass. Not only does Wendy love animals, adventure, hiking in the mountains, and sharing books with kids…she also loves Jesus! Her books are full of biblical messages and life lessons that Fin encounters on his adventures.

(Please note: All product links below are affiliate links.)

Tell us about yourself!

Hello! My name is Wendy Mattox, Christian chapter book author and outdoors enthusiast.
I’ve been happily married for thirty-two years with four grown daugthers who are all equally amazing. They have families of their own now–which means I’m the lucky grandma of eleven incredible grandchildren.

I worked as a preschool teacher for eight years and then as director for four years. I started my writing journey almost two years ago.

I collect toys. (You have to, with so many grandchildren!). I have nearly 50 totes of them in my playroom. Fortunately, my husband and I love thrift shopping, which is where many of the toys come from! 

Tell us about your chapter books.

I write the Magic Magnifying Glass series. So far, those books are:

  1. Lost Locket
  2. Possum Problems
  3. Night of Nonsense
  4. Ice Fishing Fiasco
  5. Mudslide Mayhem
  6. Campsite Chaos (releasing Easter 2022)
I also just finished writing the first book for a new series I’m starting. It will come out July 2022. Details coming soon!

The Magic Magyifying Glass is a series of Christian chapter books for children ages 6-11. They’re mountain adventures with biblical truths weaved throughout each story. They’re told through the perspective of Fin, my 9 year old main character.

What kind of child are you trying to reach with your books?

With these books, I hope to reach kids who are curious and love clean detective adventures–plus animals, nature, and action-packed thrills!

Give us a little flavor of some great characters or the setting.

The series is set in the forest of Donnelly, Idaho. Fin finds a magic magnifying glass that causes him to shrink to. aninch tall if he finds a mystery that needs solving.

Elliot is Fin’s best friend…but he’s also a mouse! Borris and Snickers are his cat and dog companions, while Professor Delilah is the head butterfly.

What inspired you to write this series?

I thought of these books about 20 years ago! I finally decided to write them for my grandkids. I wanted them and children like them to have upbeat, clean, fun books to read.

Fin loves the Lord, his parents, and his mountains. He gets into all sorts of exciting predicaments each time he shrinks!

How did you know you wanted to be an author?

I’ve always loved writing. But it wasn’t until two years ago that I decided to go for it! I love visiting schools and inspiring children to trust God with all areas. oftheir lives. I remind them that when we ask Jesus into our hearts, He goes everywhere with us. He loves, guides, and protects us.

Here’s a few examples of biblical truths that Fin introduces to his readers:

  • Popcorn prayers – Little prayers we pop up to God at any time or place. God loves it when we talk to Him. He’s always listening!
  • God is like a magnet – He’s always drawing us closer to Himself.
  • Worship instead of worry – God has. the whole world in His hands. He can take care of your problems.

What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

Work hard and pray harder! Take it a day at a time and just do the next thing that takes you toward your goal.

What formats are your books available in?

  • Paperback
  • Ebook

Find them all here (affiliate).

Do you have a schedule of when new books come out?

The next Magic Magynifying Glass book, Campsite Chaos, comes out Easter 2022. And my new series kicks off in July 2022!

How can parents find you?

Parents can find me on the web at www.wendyannmattox.com. I’m also on Instagram and Facebook.

My books are available on Amazon (affiliate). You can also purchase signed copies from me here!

Liked that?

Try these!

If you’re in the market for chapter books, I’d love to share my series with you!

Collar Cases is a Christian mystery series for readers 7-12.

Join investigative reporters Mittens Meow and Alex Digger as they solve mysteries in their small town and learn lessons about character.